Our Writers Resolve: A Handful of Breakwater Authors Give Us Their Top New Year’s Resolutions for 2013

Look who’s back in action! If you’re reading this, then congratulations! You survived the Mayan-End-Of-Days crisis AND your NYE Hangover. We’re back in full-gear here at Breakwater headquarters and first on our list was a list… of resolutions. We asked a handful of Breakwater’s authors to give us their top resolutions for 2013, literary or otherwise, and here’s what they said:

Kerri Cull, author of 2012’s Soak and curator at The Book Fridge:

My literary resolution: to complete drafting a manuscript of short fiction that is currently 24 stories deep.

Debbie Hanlon, author of two Adventures of Gus and Isaac books, including 2012’s Ho Ho No Christmas!:

2013 will be a year of the Deb! Looking forward to getting my red belt in TKD, completing Trouble times in Tickle Harbour, the 3rd book in The Adventures of Gus and Isaac series, spending as much time as I can with my amazing husband, traveling, and taking good care of myself and my loved ones..all in all continuing to love and live my amazing life!

Susan M. MacDonald, author of Edge of Time, winner of the 2012 Moonbeam Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy:

I’ve got to stop sitting in front of the computer and get up and MOVE. Of course, I’ve got to spend more time at the computer, WRITING, too.

Ergh, I hate New Years resolutions.

Samuel Thomas Martin, author of 2012’s A Blessed Snarl

My two aims this year are to finish my novel Odin’s Eyes and, since I’m living in Iowa, have tea with Marilynne Robinson. Both, at this point seem equally as (un)likely.

Trudy J. Morgan-Cole, author of By the Rivers of Brooklyn and the 2012 NL Heritage and History Award winner, That Forgetful Shore:

I just posted a vlog all about my writerly New Year’s resolutions so it’s fresh in my mind … I have a few things in mind but the main one is to finish researching and writing this draft of my current work-in-progress, “A Sudden Sun Discloses,” which is (partly, at least) about suffragists in 1890s and 1920s Newfoundland.

Chad Pelley, author of 2010’s award-winning debut novel, Away From Everywhere and the forthcoming novel, Every Little Thingto be released in March 2013:

For me, 2013 is going to go down as The Year of Ambitious Writing. I have two goals. One is to curate a collection of shorts by March, from the 27 stories on my hard drive. There’s at least a dozen there that’ll work well together: funny ones, sad ones, funny-sad ones, about people longing for something they’ll never have. It’ll be called Big Red Hearts. Come February, I’ve cleared my schedule of everything – day jobs included – to write the novel I’ve been preparing to write for years now. It’s about a small town forced to turn on each other, with subplots and backstory including a man’s divorce and search for his missing daughter. I’ve never been more excited about a writing project, and the first draft will exist by 2014.

Claire Wilkshire, author of the forthcoming debut novel, Maxine

1. Smile more.  (Less scowly-frowniness, even if it’s just from concentrating.)

2. Encourage people.  (Do we think “Good old X, he really taught me a lot that time when he accurately pointed out every one of my shortcomings?” No, we do not.)
3. Be optimistic.

These appear in blue marker on a yellow, star-shaped sticky note on my computer stand. There’s also the small matter of the 20 lbs. but in order to remain optimistic, I decided to leave that one off the note.

***

Leave a Reply

